Designer of the Month: Jamie Herzlinger

Happy Friday, everyone! How’s your week been so far? I hope you’re all excited for the weekend as I am! Starting today I’ve decided to feature an interior designer every month to keep you all updated on the latest home decor trends. For this month of May we’re featuring American designer Jamie Herzlinger, who’s been featured in The New York Times and many other interior design magazines.

Homes for sale in Martinsburg, WV

Jamie has always had a flair for design. Her mother, Nan Herzlinger, was a notable sportswear designer back in the ’60s, so it was only expected that she would have a booming career as a New York based clothing designer.

“After taking over nearly all of the shop windows along 57th Street and Fifth Avenue in downtown Manhattan one season, I found myself wondering, ‘How do I top this? Where do I go from here?’ So I got in my car and decided to go west to Arizona and chase this new experience. I wound up at a luncheon, and a woman came up and asked me whose outfit I was in. Funnily enough, it was my own line and when she found out why I was in Arizona, she said, ‘Oh my gosh, I have all your clothes! Would you design my house?’ Bingo, that’s what I knew I was meant to do.

Image

Despite differing styles with numerous clients, Jamie still successfully incorporates her signature theme of classic sensuality to create the perfect balance. While urban minimalism has been growing popular in the interior design scene, she believes that a home should remain enveloped with substance and warmth. “It’s like sitting down to dinner and having no seasoning in your food. Who wants that?”, she says.

Image

Homes for sale in Martinsburg, WV

Naturally, Jamie’s designs are tailored more for women, incorporating sensuality and class in her rooms. Despite ever changing trends, she is one of many who believe that paint can determine everything in achieving a mood or style that everyone will love.

What do you think of Jamie’s designs? If you like her style, feel free to read more about her here.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Leave a Reply

